Brief Background

Map of Region 12On July 7, 1975 under Presidential Decree No. 742, Region XII was created or otherwise known as Central Mindanao. Under this decree, Central Mindanao was composed of five (5) provinces and three (3) cities, namely: Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao and the cities of Cotabato, Iligan, and Marawi.

On August 1, 1989, Republic Act No. 6734 was signed into law, which provided for the creation of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM). The provinces of Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao were included in the composition of ARMM.

On October 12, 1990, Executive Order No. 429 was signed into law, defining the new composition of Central Mindanao with Koronadal City as its Regional Administrative Center. However, a restraining order was issued, resulting to the non-execution of the said EO. Thus, the composition of Region XII prior to the issuance of EO 429 (i.e. Cotabato Province, Sultan Kudarat, Lanao del Norte, Cotabato City, Iligan City and Marawi City) remained on status quo. Cotabato City remained as the Regional Administrative Center of Region XII. It has been likewise designated as the temporary regional center of the ARMM.

Then on, February 23, 1995, Republic Act 7901 “An Act Creating Region XIII to be known as the Caraga Administrative Region, and for other purposes” was enacted. The law provided for the transfer of Sultan Kudarat Province which is under Region XII to Region XI following the transfer of Surigao del Sur to Caraga Region (Region XIII). However, in 1998, RA 8744 was passed transferring back to Region XII the province of Sultan Kudarat.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Final Peace Agreement signed between the Government of the Republic of the Philippines and the Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF) on September 2, 1996. Executive Order No. 371 was issued by His Excellency Fidel V. Ramos on October 2, 1996. EO 371 established a Special Zone of Peace and Development (SZOPAD) in Southern Philippines, which encompassed five regions, including Region XII.

On August 14, 2001, pursuant to the provision of RA 9054, a plebiscite was conducted in the SZOPAD to determine the areas that shall comprise the ARMM. The cities of Marawi in Region XII and Isabela in Region IX joined the ARMM. As a result of the reconfiguration of the ARMM, Pres. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo issued Executive Order No. 36 dated September 19, 2001, which calls for the realignment of the regions in Mindanao. The province of Lanao del Norte and Iligan City of Region XII were transferred to Region X. The provinces of South Cotabato, Sarangani, and the cities of Koronadal and General Santos of Region XI became part of the new Region XII.

Thus, per Executive Order No. 36 dated September 19, 2001, “Providing for the Reorganization of the Administrative Regions in Mindanao and for other purposes”, Region XII now is called “SOCCSKSARGEN” and is composed of 4 provinces and 5 cities. These provinces are: North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat. The five cities are: Cotabato City, Koronadal City, Gen. Santos City, Kidapawan City and Tacurong City. Only 2 cities are considered Chartered cities namely: Cotabato City and Gen. Santos City. Kidapawan City, Koronadal City and Tacurong City considered component cities of North Cotabato, South Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat provinces respectively.


Region XII varies from flat, fertile plains to irregular landscape to wide valleys, scattered hills and intensive mountain ranges. About half of the total land area of the region’s land resources fall within the 0-500m in elevation. It also has an extensive coastline which stretches to 320 kilometers. The mountain ranges of the region are located in the northern and eastern portions of Cotabato, and in the central and southwestern portions spanning through the three provinces of Sultan Kudarat, South Cotabato and Sarangani.

As for its climate, Region XII has a rainfall of more or less even distribution throughout the year with no pronounced rain periods. The region experiences high annual rainfall which ranges from 1,871mm/year to 2,876mm/year (considered moist). Rainfall patterns of the region contribute to the high production levels in agriculture.


Indicators 5-yr Ave. (2012-16) 2017
HHs w/ Access to Safe Water 91.96% 89.24%
HHs w/ Sanitary Toilets 81.76% 80.25%
Deliveries by Skilled Health Personnel 81.88% 89.63%
Facility-Based Delivery  75.23%  88.87%
Vital Health Indices:    
Crude Birth Rate/1,000 population 19.44% 17.42%
Crude Death Rate/1,000 population 3.30% 3.27%
Infant Mortality Rate/1,000 livebirths 7.03% 8.72%
Maternal Mortality Rate/100,000 livebirths 71.97% 57.64%
Under 5 Mortality Rate/1,000 livebirths 10.13% 11.66%
Pregnant women w/ 4 or more PN Visits 57.84% 60.33%
Fully Immunized Mothers 59.54% 57.20%
Post-partum Women Given Vitamin A 58.00% 54.16%
Contraceptive Prevalence Rates (CPR) 61.07% 71.62%
Fully Immunized Children (FIC) 71.78% 66.36%
Exclusively Breastfed until 6th month 70.25% 63.82%
Newborn Screened Among Livebirths 59.04% 72.56%
TB Case Detection Rate 91.00% 55.86%



Facility No.
Provincial Health Office 4 1: 1,195,053
City Health Office 5 1: 956,042
Retained Hospitals 2 1: 2,390,106
Government Hospitals 29 1: 164,835
Private Hospitals 87 1: 54,945
Hospital Beds 5,467 1: 874
Main Health Centers/CHO 61 1: 78,364
Barangay Health Stations 1,126 1: 4,245
Manpower No.   Ratio
Doctor 122 1: 39,182
Public Health Nurse 285 1: 16,773
Midwife 846 1: 5,650
Sanitation Inspectors 87 1: 54,945
Sanitary Engineers 2 1: 2,390,105.50
Dentist 51 1: 93,730
Nutritionist 15 1: 318,681
Medical Technologist 87 1: 54,945
Barangay Health Workers 7,815 1: 612